Media roundup - clean water, WASH news, August 20, 2021

on
19 August 2021
WaterAid/ Ernest Randriarimalala

August 20, 2021

How Puri became the first Indian city to provide clean drinking water for all 

Telegraph: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/puri-became-first-indian-city-provide-clean-drinking-water/ 

 

Global water crisis will intensify with climate breakdown, says report 

Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2021/aug/17/global-water-crisis-will-intensify-with-climate-breakdown-says-report 

Pledge Times: https://pledgetimes.com/global-warming-will-worsen-water-scarcity-crisis-in-the-world/ 

Beverage Industry: https://www.bevindustry.com/articles/94353-pepsico-announces-net-water-positive-commitment 

Eminetra: https://eminetra.co.za/global-water-crisis-will-intensify-with-climatic-degradation-report-says-climate-change/369006/ 

NewsColony: https://newscolony.com/world-news/global-water-crisis-will-intensify-with-climate-breakdown-says-report/ 

Classy Buzz: https://classybuzz.com/global-water-crisis-will-intensify-with-climate-breakdown-says-report-climate-change/ 

 

Sanitation complex built near Saravana Poigai tank  

The Hindu: https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Madurai/sanitation-complex-built-near-saravana-poigai-tank/article35945347.ece 

 

People fill plastic kettles with clean water from tap in Yemen 

Xin: http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2021-08/18/c_1310133872.htm 

 

It takes 20 seconds of vigorous handwashing to dislodge viruses and bacteria, according to new study 

AOL: https://www.aol.co.uk/lifestyle/it-takes-20-seconds-of-vigorous-handwashing-to-dislodge-viruses-and-bacteria-from-our-hands-according-to-a-new-study 

 

Africa

Nigerian governor urges civilians to arm themselves 

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world/africa 

 

UN calls for enhanced humanitarian aid in Mozambique 

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world/africa 

 

Uganda scraps controversial anti-pornography ‘miniskirt’ law 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/8/17/uganda-scraps-anti-porn-miniskirt-law 

 

Dozens killed in Niger village attack 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/8/17/more-than-30-killed-in-niger-village-attack 

 

Inside Mozambique’s evolving Cabo Delgado conflict 

Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2021/aug/18/i-ran-my-heart-was-broken-inside-mozambiques-evolving-cabo-delgado-conflict 

Asia 

Ethnic Karen commanders in Myanmar admit killing 25 men 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/8/17/ethnic-karen-commanders-in-myanmar-admit-massacre-of-25-men 

  

Health

Uganda declares Polio outbreak 

BBC: https://bbc.in/3m9mgt2 

Ivory Coast begins Ebola vaccinations after first case detected in nearly 30 years 

Indy: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/africa/ivory-coast-ebola-vaccination-abidjan-b1903907.html 

Daily Express: https://www.express.co.uk/news/science/1478382/ebola-outbreak-declared-ivory-coast-africa-who-deadly-virus-guinea-abidjan-scn 

Telegraph: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/hundreds-vaccinated-against-ebola-ivory-coast-races-curb-first/ 

 

WaterAid in the news

PepsiCo Looks to Be Net Water Positive 

Yahoo: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/pepsico-announces-net-water-positive-120000969.html  

Market Watch: https://www.marketwatch.com/story/pepsico-looks-to-be-net-water-positive-271629203077  

Beverage Daily: https://www.beveragedaily.com/Article/2021/08/17/PepsiCo-to-become-net-water-positive-by-2030-Time-is-running-out-for-the-world-to-act-on-water  

Profit Quotes: http://www.profitquotes.com/cgi/?a=news&ticker=a&w=&story=202108202108170800PR_NEWS_USPR_____CL76754  

PotatoPro: https://www.potatopro.com/news/2021/pepsico-announces-net-water-positive-commitment  

Food Navigator: https://www.foodnavigator.com/Article/2021/08/17/PepsiCo-to-become-net-water-positive-by-2030-Time-is-running-out-for-the-world-to-act-on-water  

Food Institute: https://foodinstitute.com/focus/update-major-food-companies-ramping-up-esg-efforts/  

About Drinks: https://www.about-drinks.com/pepsico-verpflichtet-sich-zum-positiven-netto-wasserverbrauch/ 

Does offering ‘free water’ reduces wastage? WaterAid India 
Prokerala: https://www.prokerala.com/news/articles/a1189090.html 

The Mainichi: https://mainichi.jp/english/articles/20210817/p2g/00m/0bu/044000c 

Latest News: https://latestnews.fresherslive.com/articles/does-offering-free-water-reduces-wastage-268837 

From advocacy to engineering, we cover a lot of ground, but the fundamentals of our work are simple:

Clean water infrastructure means people can access clean, running water 365 days a year.

Learn more

Toilets

Toilets matter more than you might think. Sanitation is fundamental for the dignity and health of a community.

Learn more

Hygiene

Hygiene is the final piece of the puzzle. Good hygiene helps people stay healthier, it prevents the spread of diseases and allows people to flourish.

Learn more