Media roundup - clean water, wash news, July 23, 2021

on
22 July 2021
WaterAid/ Ernest Randriarimalala

July 23, 2021

No soap needed: Indiana company develops new handwashing device that battles Delta variant 

Local 12: https://www.local12.com/news/nation-world/no-soap-needed-indiana-company-develops-new-handwashing-device-that-battles-delta-variant-carmel-ozone  

 

Proper sanitation is a basic human right 

The Morung Express: https://www.morungexpress.com/proper-sanitation-is-a-basic-human-right  

 

Africa needs to improve its water resilience as cities grow and 'climate change hammers the continent' 

Times Live: https://www.timeslive.co.za/news/africa/2021-07-22-africa-needs-to-improve-its-water-resilience-as-cities-grow-and-climate-change-hammers-the-continent/  

Africa

Vaccine hesitancy has risen in Ghana: a closer look at who’s worried 

The Conversation: https://theconversation.com/vaccine-hesitancy-has-risen-in-ghana-a-closer-look-at-whos-worried-164733 

 

Pfizer-BioNTech to produce COVID-19 jabs with S African company 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/7/21/pfizer-biontech-to-produce-covid-19-jabs-with-s-african  

 

Jobless, hungry, fed-up: Why South Africans rioted 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/podcasts/2021/7/21/south-africa-118  

 

Tanzania’s Chadema party says leader Freeman Mbowe arrested 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/7/21/leader-of-tanzanias-main-opposition-party-arrested  

 

What sparked the mass violence in South Africa – video explainer 

Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2021/jul/21/what-sparked-the-mass-violence-in-south-africa-video-explainer  

 

Thousands flee Ethiopia’s Afar region  

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-africa-47639452  

 

Many flee ongoing fighting in Ethiopia’s Afar region 

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-africa-47639452 

 

Mali’s interim leader ‘safe and sound’ after assassination attempt 

Independent: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/africa/president-goita-attacked-eid-day-mali-b1887223.html  

Asia 

COVID-19 origins: China rejects WHO proposal to return to Wuhan 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/7/22/covid-19-origins-china  

 

An extreme jungle trek to vaccinate people in India 
BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-asia-india-57917673  

 

India records more than 4,300 ‘black fungus’ deaths 

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-57897682  

 

India outrage over ‘no oxygen shortage death data’ claim 

BBC: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-57911638  

 

Health

India probes its first human death from bird flu 

AJ: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/7/22/india-bird-flu-first-human-death  

 

WaterAid in the news

Factors that Trigger Girls’ Absenteeism in School: An Analysis from Menstrual Health and Hygiene Management Study in Nepal 

Relief Web: https://reliefweb.int/report/nepal/factors-trigger-girls-absenteeism-school-analysis-menstrual-health-and-hygiene 

Humanitarian News: http://humanitariannews.org/20210722/factors-trigger-girls-absenteeism-school-analysis-menstrual-health-hygiene-management-study 

 

India’s fact checking on toilets rests on asking the right questions 

The Business News India: https://thebusinessnewsindia.com/indias-fact-checking-on-toilets-rests-on-asking-the-right-questions/ 

News Polo: https://newspolo.com/indias-fact-checking-on-toilets-rests-on-asking-the-right-questions/ 

Business Standard: https://www.business-standard.com/article/health/how-many-people-have-access-to-toilets-surveyors-must-ask-the-questions-121072100506_1.html 

 

Glastonbury Festival announces September Worthy Farm gig is cancelled 
Bristol Post: https://www.bristolpost.co.uk/whats-on/music-nightlife/glastonbury-festival-announces-september-worthy-5678563 

Somerset Live: https://www.somersetlive.co.uk/whats-on/music-nightlife/glastonbury-festival-announces-september-worthy-5678563 

 

 

From advocacy to engineering, we cover a lot of ground, but the fundamentals of our work are simple:

Clean water infrastructure means people can access clean, running water 365 days a year.

Learn more

Toilets

Toilets matter more than you might think. Sanitation is fundamental for the dignity and health of a community.

Learn more

Hygiene

Hygiene is the final piece of the puzzle. Good hygiene helps people stay healthier, it prevents the spread of diseases and allows people to flourish.

Learn more